• Subscribe
    Fill something at the
    'Theme option > Overall Elements > Top Bar > Top Bar Subscribtion' section

Reader’s Advisory

For personalized reader’s advisory, please call 543-4701 and our staff will be happy to assist you.

Ebooks and Audiobooks

For these e-book services you need a valid library card and PIN. Contact us at 543-4701 to get this information.


OverDrive for ADML: 
Download eBooks and audiobooks
from ADML directly to your mobile device.

Google Play  Apple store


Kindle ebook reader: 
Read ebooks borrowed from our 
library’s ADML collection.
Reads Kindle, and mobi formated files.

Google Play  Apple store


Boundless app for eRead Illinois
(Baker & Taylor):
Search our library’s eRead
Illinois collection and download
eBooks and eAudiobooks.  

Google Play  Apple store


Brought to you through RAILS,
this service allows you to access it’s collection
anywhere in Illinois, at any time, without having to log in. 

View it online at  library.biblioboard.com.

Google Play

Apple store 

Websites for Readers

Book Awards

The Pulitzer Prizes – Fiction
For distinguished fiction published in book form during the year by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.

The Pulitzer Prizes – Non-fiction
For a distinguished and appropriately documented book of nonfiction by an American author that is not eligible for consideration in any other category.

The Man Booker Prize
The prize, which launched in 1969, aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom.To maintain the consistent excellence of The Man Booker Prize, judges are chosen from a wide range of disciplines, including critics, writers and academics, but also poets, politicians and actors, all with a passion for quality fiction.

The Edgars
Each spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre.

The Hugo Awards
The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.

The Bram Stoker Awards
Each year, the Horror Writer’s Association presents the Bram Stoker Awards for Superior Achievement, named in honor of Bram Stoker, author of the seminal horror work, Dracula. The Bram Stoker Awards were instituted immediately after the organization’s incorporation in 1987.

The Christy Award
The Christy Awards were started in 1999 when nearly a dozen Christian publishers established a Christian fiction award to recognize novelists and novels of excellence in several genres of Christian fiction. Created in honor of Catherine Marshall, the author of the Christy series.


Children's and Young Adult Book Awards

Newbery Medal
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award
The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Robert F. Sibert Information Book Medal
The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. ALSC administers the award.

Odyssey Award
This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Monarch Award
The name Monarch was chosen because of its familiarity to K-3 children and to symbolize the growth, change and freedom that becoming a reader brings. The Monarch is designed to encourage children to read critically and become familiar with children’s books, authors and illustrators.

Bluestem Award
The award is designed for students in grades 3-5 who are ready for longer titles than found on the Monarch list, but not quite ready for the sophistication of some of the Rebecca Caudill titles. Named in honor of Big Bluestem which is the state prairie grass, the award may include both timeless classics and current titles, as well as books that have appeared on Monarch and Rebecca Caudill lists.

Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award
The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades four through eight in participating Illinois schools. The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois, for nearly 50 years. The award is given in recognition for her literary talent and the universal appeal of her books which have touched the hearts of many children and young adults.

Lincoln Award
This program encourages teens to read for pleasure and to become lifelong readers. Named after former President Abraham Lincoln, an avid reader and noted author, the Lincoln Award is sponsored by ISLMA (Illinois School Library Media Association) and administered by the steering committee.

Check out a long list of book awards on the ALSC website.